micro this is just a theory, but if you are hooked up to a particular server, that server may like you and keep feeding you more of the same instead of what you want. If you switched to Version 7 you might get a new server, and make sure you are a beta person. If you don't like Version 7, you could always switch back again.
This is another theory, but rather than deinstall Version 6, you could just refuse to execute it by temporarily renaming the executable from *.exe to *.xxe. That's what I did on one machine.
Here's my experience. I installed Version 7 on my laptop and told it not to start up my old Version 6. But it continued the last Version 6 anyway. I had BOTH V6 and V7 going at the same time. Each went at half speed yet they didn't object to each other and ran. Finally I killed V6 so V7 speed increased. It increased from 600 PPD to 1100 PPD which ain't all that great.
BAP